DWI laws in Texas are strict. Why? Approximately every 20 minutes someone in Texas is either killed or seriously injured in a car crash that involves alcohol. Impairment already begins after you have your first drink and it is an uphill battle from there. Your gender, body weight, the number of drinks and the amount of food you’ve eaten all factor into how your body processes alcohol. In most cases, women and people with smaller builds will begin to feel impairment sooner compared to someone who’s huskier.
A person with .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) can be arrested and charged. Whether you’re the driver or passenger, you can be fined up to $500 if there’s open alcohol in the vehicle. If there is a child present at the time of arrest, the person in question could also be charged with child endangerment. If you have passengers under the age of 15, you will be looking at :
- Loss of your license for up to 180 days
- Up to 2 years in a state jail
- Fine up to $10,000
When you are stopped be prepared to hand over your license, registration, and proof of insurance. You’ll likely have to complete a breathalyzer or blood test as well. If you refuse to comply, you will automatically lose your license for 180 days. The punishment depends on the number of convictions as well.
DWI First Offense:
Three days in jail with a fine of up to $4,000 and the loss of your license up to a year.
DWI Second Offense:
A fine of up to $4,000 and spending one month to a year in jail with the loss of your driver’s license for up to two years.
DWI Third Offense:
You will be facing a $10,000 fine with two to ten years in prison and the loss of your license for up to two years.
After two or more offenses in a five year period, you will have to install a special ignition switch that prevents your vehicle from starting if it senses alcohol on your breath. The best thing you can do to prevent this from happening is having a designated driver to get you to and from your locations in a safe manner. However, if you’re currently facing this situation, look for a defense lawyer. Someone who will fight for you and your case – Daniel Clancy is the lawyer to do just that. He knows all about DWI laws in Texas.