Anyone in Texas who obtains, possesses, transfers or even uses another person’s ID without that person’s consent commits identity theft. This is especially true if they do it with the intent to harm or defraud someone. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, fraudulent use or possession of ID can be a state jail felony, a third or second-degree felony or even a first-degree felony.
Identity theft convictions
If you’re convicted of the transfer of financial information or unauthorized acquisition, you’ll face up to one year in jail. However, if you’re convicted of the fraudulent use or possession of ID could land you in prison for life. A felony conviction can result in fines up to $10,000. Misdemeanor convictions for transferring financial information come with a fine up to $4,000.
The severity of the felony depends on how many items were obtained, possessed or transferred by the defendant. Less than five? The penalty is a state jail felony which results in a 180 day to 2-year stay in state prison and a fine of no more than $10,000. If the number is between five and nine, it will result in a 2-10 year state prison sentence and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Is the number of items is between ten and forty-nine? You’ll be charged with a second-degree felony resulting in a 2-20 year state prison sentence and fine up to $10,000. If the number of items is fifty or more you are looking at a life sentence and a fine up to $10,000.
An identity theft conviction in Texas could have serious repercussions, and it could involve complicated processes. Having a professional in your corner who knows the current state laws and procedures will benefit you and the outcome.