Misdemeanors in Texas is a criminal charge that is below the felony level. In Texas, misdemeanor charges will involve less serious offenses and won’t result in prison time in a state penitentiary. Many misdemeanor crimes are mostly punished with fines and won’t carry a charge heavier than $4,000 or can be punished with some time in a county jail or even house arrest. Texas has three tiers of misdemeanor classes and they all carry varying degrees of punishment.
Misdemeanors in Texas Class A:
This is the most serious, a conviction on a Class A misdemeanor will carry a punishment of up to a year in county jail and a $4,000 fine.
Misdemeanors Class B:
People that are convicted under a Class B misdemeanor are punishable for up to 180 days in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
And finally Class C:
These are the least serious charges, there is no jail time however it can be met with a $500 fine.
Keep in mind though, that the sentencing might change depending on certain circumstances. For instance, if a person has been convicted of a Class A misdemeanor before, there is a minimum of 90 days in a county jail. However, if the repeat offense if a Class B, a minimum sentence of 30 days would be imposed. For crimes that involve drugs or “controlled substances” or offenses motivated by bias, a Class A misdemeanor will have a 180-day mandatory minimum.
Any criminal conviction, even misdemeanors in Texas, can have serious consequences, including jail time and a fine. If you are charged with a crime in Texas, you should contact a local defense lawyer like Daniel Clancy. He’ll fight for you and be able to tell you how your case is likely to fare in court based on the law, the facts, judge and prosecutor.